The Irish Princess – Karen Harper UPDATED 5.22.2015

Now I cannot remember how I got this book, it was either from a gift card to Barns & Noble (which I rarely frequent anymore now that I’ve found THIS beautiful site) or I got this book through a Reddit Book Exchange I participated in last year.

My thoughts before really getting to far into the book, The Irish Princess, hopefully it’s enjoyable. After all, I’m going to be reading it. I enjoyed reading Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith (which I will write a review for, soonish), which I hoped this book would be similar in reading or details of Ireland. Not that Crown Duel takes place in Ireland, but I likened her country as someplace similar in detail and lore.

I am about ten chapters into The Irish Princess and so far it’s a decent read. Not to slow and right now it’s following more of Gera’s womanly duties to her family, with a harsh king in England destroying everything around Gera. I believe so far it’s a revenge plot, it might have a change up at some point.

Check back for the follow up after I finish the book! 🙂

Update 5/22/2015 – I FINALLY completed this novel, and while I started to like the characters more, I really only got into the look towards the end which is a shame since the ending was so short and sudden I felt it really could have gone further at that point. I’m a little sad it took me this long, I want my books to grab me and almost drown me in it’s pages, the withdrawal so torturous it’s better to just keep reading and this book didn’t do it for me. I guess I was hoping it would be more like a Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith, but that’s a review for another day!

8311481From the Novel

Born into a first family of Ireland, with royal ties on both sides, Elizabeth Fitzgerald-known as Gera-finds her world overturned when Henry VIII imprisons her father, the Earl of Kildare, and brutally destroys her family. Torn from the home she loves, her remaining family scattered, Gera dares not deny the refuge offered her in England’s glittering royal court. There she must navigate ever-shifting alliances even as she nurtures her secret desire for revenge. From County Kildare’s lush green fields to London’s rough-and-tumble streets and the royal court’s luxurious pageantry, The Irish Princessfollows the journey of a daring woman whose will cannot be tamed, and who won’t be satisfied until she restores her family to its rightful place in Ireland.

Leave a Reply

