The Looking Glass Wars, is not for me.

Honestly, this is not a great read so far. The names and words strung together are hard to read or say in one go, such as “Wondertropolous” or “outerwilderbeastia” it just lacks imagination in naming.

Worse is now that I’ve reached chapter 14, (SPOILERS!!!) I’d be more interested in this novel if I didn’t have to read about the princess’ escape into our universe, I’d rather hers. Look, I understand the authors effort to tie this story to the original Alice in Wonderland but honestly, i’d prefer an action packed adventure of her evading and hiding under her aunt Redd’s nose in Wonderland. It’s just maddening having to read about her living on the streets of Victorian London… not at all exciting or interesting.

After some sleeping on it I cam to this decision, and it’s not one that usually happens. I just can’t bring myself to finish this novel, no offence to those who like it I just can’t get behind this book. I’ve got others I’m more interested in pursuing than finishing this book.
The writing, and naming and the direction it’s taking is such a turn off. This is not a book for me.

Back of the Novel

The Myth: Alice was an ordinary girl who stepped through the looking glass and entered a fairy-tale world invented by Lewis Carroll in his famous storybook. The Truth: Wonderland is real. Alyss Heart is the heir to the throne, until her murderous aunt Redd steals the crown and kills Alyss? parents. To escape Redd, Alyss and her bodyguard, Hatter Madigan, must flee to our world through the Pool of Tears. But in the pool Alyss and Hatter are separated. Lost and alone in Victorian London, Alyss is befriended by an aspiring author to whom she tells the violent, heartbreaking story of her young life. Yet he gets the story all wrong. Hatter Madigan knows the truth only too well, and he is searching every corner of our world to find the lost princess and return her to Wonderland so she may battle Redd for her rightful place as the Queen of Hearts.

Leave a Reply

