Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1)

Author: Charlaine Harris

Reading Level: Adult

Genre: Mystery

Released: May 1st 2001

Review Source: Ace Books

Sookie Stackhouse is a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. She’s quiet, keeps to herself, and doesn’t get out much. Not because she’s not pretty. She is. It’s just that, well, Sookie has this sort of “disability.” She can read minds. And that doesn’t make her too dateable. And then along comes Bill. He’s tall, dark, handsome–and Sookie can’t hear a word he’s thinking. He’s exactly the type of guy she’s been waiting for all her life….

But Bill has a disability of his own: He’s a vampire with a bad reputation. He hangs with a seriously creepy crowd, all suspected of–big surprise–murder. And when one of Sookie’s coworkers is killed, she fears she’s next….

A little back story on why it took me this long to read this particular book series, because really one would think I’d have already read it by now. I wasn’t drawn to the cover, I know don’t judge a book yadda-yadda-yadda. I remember when a girl was reading the book, back way before the show was a reality, and she was gushing about it, I just didn’t think much of it at the time. Fast forward to seeing the shown on Netflix and I was hooked, it was raunchy and well written and the cast was so eye catching I was drawn in. I was also drawn in since it was set in Louisiana and that was just so odd and perfect I watched the show.

I decided to read the books now, after realizing it was based on the book I vaguely remember dismissing. I never did finish watching the show, but one day I’ll catch up. The book however was a pretty good read, and that’s not to surprising now. It did surprise me just how much the book was written from the internal monologue of Sookie Stackhouse, it’s not looking in on her life but through her eyes and we read every thought this poor girl has. While the show seems to have stayed close to the first book i look forward to seeing how it differs from the other novels in the series. Is it horrible to say I still root for Eric? I do, I really do, bull is a gentleman and all, but whoa Eric is a hot viking. Overall I’d give the book 4 stars out of five.

Leave a Reply

