Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead


Vampire Academy
Vampire Academy #1

Author: Richelle Mead

Reading Level: Young Adult

Genre: Paranormal

Released: January 2nd 2007

Review Source: Razorbill

St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding
school it’s a hidden place where vampires
are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them.

Rose Hathaway is a D’hampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s the very place where they’re most in danger. . . .
Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi, the worlds fiercest and most dangerous vampires, make Lissa one of them forever.

I initially watched the VA movie on Netflix, and I was left confused. I felt after watching it that there were a lot of unanswered questions. So I decided to pick up the book. After all, the books are typically so much better. This time, I am not so sure.

The book opens with Lissa and Rose on the lamb, running, from what we haven’t a clue. the lead has been buried and we don’t find out till the end what prompted the girls to escape the heavily warded and protected groups of St. Vladimir’s Academy, but something spooked them.

The majority of the story was interesting, the lore and world built is fascinating as it so often is with Vampires. The bond between Lissa and Rose is fascinating and helped keep me interested. I am looking forward to knowing where their story is going but not so interested as to buy all the books and keep them on my shelves. I think so the rest of the series, should I continue reading further, I might check out from my local library.

Over all 3 out of 5 starts, good but not a great read. It had a few moments and I’m more interested in Lissa’s element and in Dimitri.

Leave a Reply

