DIY Faberge Dragon’s Egg

craft-projects-banner


I have been playing with my polymer clay recently, and thought why not show how to make a few of your very own dragon eggs!

20160524_205931

 

Initially I purchased Polyform Sculpey Original Polymer Clay from amazon,  it’s a small box but its easy to work with and doesn’t get too dried out and doesn’t harden too much. I like to bulk out my projects. This means, inside the eggs I started first with a ball/egg shape of tinfoil, so I don’t waste excess clay and helps them bake more properly.

 

20160524_210507I just followed the direction on the box! Then I broke out my trusty hot glue gun. There is no reason not to own one. They are useful in every which way. GET ONE!

 

For one egg, I didn’t pre-sketch any design (with a pencil). I just started working with the hot glue, mid way and work it down to the base. If the egg is lumpy and not smooth then I suggest before doing this step, rub some sand paper along it till you feel satisfied.

DO THIS OUTSIDE, sandpaper causes dust and it is not healthy to breathe in the excess dust.

 

20160524_21214320160524_212131

As you can see, the egg on the left had pencil marks, and I didn’t always follow them. Have fun with it. It does not need to be 100% perfect as it’s an egg, nature takes its course (so to speak, lol). Let the hot glue cool down before painting them.

 

The next step will make fingers very messy, so it’s always a good idea to lay cardboard or newspapers down on your work space.

The below egg I first painted black along the sides of the dried glue design, to get into all the nooks and crannies. Then once it dried (let it sit, or use a hair dryer), I sponged the green paint over everything.

egg_dragons

Ta-da a dragon egg! It’ll look fantastic on a desk or nestled into a bookshelf!

Leave a Reply

