Angels & Demons by Dan Brown


Angels & Demons
Robert Langdon #1

Author: Dan Brown

Reading Level: Adult

Genre: Action & Suspense

Released: July 1st 2001

Review Source: Pocket Star Books

World-renowned Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is summoned to a Swiss research facility to analyze a cryptic symbol seared into the chest of a murdered physicist.

What he discovers is unimaginable: a deadly vendetta against the Catholic Church by a centuries-old underground organization— the Illuminati. Desperate to save the Vatican from a powerful time bomb, Langdon joins forces in Rome with the beautiful and mysterious scientist Vittoria Vetra. Together they embark on a frantic hunt through sealed crypts, dangerous catacombs, deserted cathedrals, and the most secretive vault on the earth… the long-forgotten Illuminati lair.

Not entirely sure why it took me so long to read this book. I enjoyed the movie, and I do believe more often than not the book is better than it’s movie. My boyfriend told me to start with Angels & Demons before reading The Da Vinci Code, so I did.

The overall story was very compelling, and I had a hard time not flipping through to see all the ambigrams ahead of time.

I do have one or two issues that bothered me, but it’s up to the author and yeah it made it more compelling I suppose. Did it all have to really happening within 24 hours?? I mean, that’s A LOT going on all at once to really happen before the canister battery expired. Slightly too unrealistic for me what with all the back and forth running, traveling and flying involved. IMO.

Also, how many times is Langdon going to squander his lucky element of surprise?? Just announce to everyone you can hear them, or see them, or distract the bad guy with your presence instead of just knocking him out, or better yet killing them when the opportunity unbelievably presents itself.

I don’t want to spoil this for anyone if they HAVEN’T seen the movie, or read the book previously. That last coupe of chapters, whoa, I speculated some alternative theories after Langdon was dragged into the Hospital but man, that was some good stuff.  Spoilers? Maybe. Anyway, I gotta say I really enjoyed this. It was a nice change of pace for me, and I might seriously look into Brown’s other works.

Leave a Reply

