TV Series Santa Clarita Diet Review


SANTA CLARITA DIET

TV Series (2017 – present)

Creator: Victor Fresco

Producers: Leila Conan Miccio, Nancy Juvonan, Jimmy Simons

Starring: Drew Barrymore, Timothy Olyphant, Liv Hewson

Number of Seasons: One (1)

TV-MA (mature Audiences)

Official Socials: FacebookTwitter
InstagramIMDb

Hashtag: #evagreen, #pennydreadful


Joel (Timothy Olyphant) and Sheila (Drew Barrymore) are husband and wife realtors leading vaguely discontented lives in the L.A. suburb of Santa Clarita with their teenaged daughter Abby, until Sheila goes through a dramatic change sending their lives down a road of death and destruction…but in a good way.

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!

IMDB Rating: 8 out of 10 stars!

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 70% Positive!

 


Now that I have only two episodes left to watch in the first season I feel ready to post a review for this show. There are only 10 episodes but it’s a great show and I’m totally into it, despite not being a big zombie fan.

The show hasn’t explained how Drew Barrymore became a zombie, but maybe they are saving that for season two? My boyfriend and I are big Timothy Olyphant fans, we loved him in Justified, he is great in the Santa Clarita Diet.

I should mention there is an over abundance of blood and gore in some episodes, not all of them, and it seems to have been an issue for some viewers, and it’s turned them off from the show. I am not into gore, at all, literally. Yet I didn’t find this a problem with the show, it offset how quirky the show is and how set it is in suburbia. It reminds me of Wisteria Lane and iZombie, only mixed together.

The daughter, Abby, kind of confuses me at times. She doesn’t really look like either of her parents with her red hair, but she’s going for the girl next door, only, it’s not clicking for me. Her side story though can be fun to watch, she gets into some teenage angst trouble, and the principal of her school is funny. I do enjoy their neighbors son, Eric played by Skyler Gisondo. He is a typical teenage boy, awkward and nervous around girls and yet he is hilarious at times.

I’d recommend this show to my friends absolutely, and I know my family is already watching it. Netflix is doing pretty good with its own original content and I can’t wait for more!

Leave a Reply

