Movie The Heartbreak Kid Review


The Heartbreak Kid

October 5th, 2007

Directors: Bobby Farrelly, Peter Farrelly

Writers: Scot Armstrong, Leslie Dixon

Starring: Ben Stiller, Michelle Monaghan, Malin Akerman

MPAA Rating: R

Official Socials: Facebook – IMDb

 

 

 

 

 


Ben Stiller stars as a newlywed who marries a dreamy woman, only to learn on their honeymoon that she’s a total nightmare. As the discovery sets in, Eddie meets the real girl of his dreams … but what to do now that he’s already married?

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars!

IMDB Rating: 5.8 out of 10 stars!

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 29%

 

 


Typically I am a fan of Ben Stiller, I find his movies to be funny and entertaining, be they comedies, romances or otherwise. This movie, for me, was on one hand entertaining to an extent but fell short for me.

The writing was a type of warning against getting married possibly too fast, or not playing the field too much before marriage? Yet while I know it will not be a classic, the movie was good I think. 3 out of 5 stars, for me is good. The actors do a great job, bringing their characters to a believable crazy, and his adventures in Mexico is quite funny, although that last bit was his own damn fault, and that drives it home.

If you have an hour to kill, give it a shot. not everyone liked it but I did, it’s not my favorite of his movies but I certainly didn’t dislike it.

Leave a Reply

