Witches of East End by Melissa De La Cruz


The Witches of East End
The Beauchamp Family #1

Author: Melissa De La Cruz

Reading Level: Young Adult

Genre: Fantasy

Released: June 21st 2011

Review Source: Disney-Hyperion

The three Beauchamp women-Joanna and her daughters, Freya and Ingrid-live ordinary lives in mist-shrouded North Hampton, out on the tip of Long Island.
All three are harboring a centuries-old secret: They are powerful witches forbidden to practice magic. But right before Freya’s planned wedding to wealthy Bran Gardiner, a mysterious and attractive man arrives in town and makes Freya question everything. When a young woman turns up dead, it soon becomes clear to all three that it’s time to dust off their wands and fight the dark forces working against them.

With a brand-new cast of characters, a fascinating and fresh world to discover, and a few surprise appearances from some of the Blue Blood fan favorites, this is a page-turning, deliciously fun, magical read fraught with love affairs, witchcraft, mythology, and an unforgettable battle between good and evil.

3-star-rating

How do I begin to describe what I just read. Of course I did first see the Netflix show, but it has been a bit too long and I couldn’t remember everything and that’s just fine since I didn’t want it to take away or spoil the book (I didn’t finish the show). However, I remembered nothing! So for the first half of the book I kept thinking “I don’t remember this at all….” and I was confused. The town is almost unfindable, thanks to the three women’s magic, but they cannot practice thanks to a previous witch trial way back when. One is a beautiful flirty bartender (Freya), the other is a pretty and intelligent librarian (Ingrid) and the mother is a mature beauty, motherly (Joanna). Two brothers vying for Freya, but there’s a deeper reason than just a sexy love triangle.

Towards the middle of the book and a few chapters after I was unsure exactly how anything was going to tie together. I mean, Freya’s behavior while flirty and fun seemed like she was acting out of character completely, and I was a little surprised when Mimi turned up in their small little town of nowhere. That started to help me align stuff, the book is set in the same world and timeline as the Blue Bloods books.

The end of the book was finally where it all made sense, doesn’t it always. If you had asked me how I felt about the book two thirds of the way in I would have been honest and said I wouldn’t have considered reading further into this series, however, now that I have finished the book I’m hooked.

Leave a Reply

