Netflix Original – Anne with an E


Anne with an E

TV Series (2017 – present)

Creator: Moira Walley-Beckett

Producer: Miranda de Pencier

Staring: Amybeth McNulty, Geraldine James, R.H. Thomson, Lucas Jade Zumann, Dalila Bela, Corinne Koslo, Aymeric Jett Montaz

Number of Seasons: One (1)

Official Socials: FacebookTwitter – IMDb

Hashtag:


A plucky orphan whose passions run deep finds an unlikely home with a hardened spinster and her soft-spoken bachelor brother. Based on the beloved books.

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!

IMDB Rating: 8.6 out of 10 stars!

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 86% positive!


I may have binge watched all seven episodes the night it was released on Netflix. However, it took me some time to digest it and read a few other reviews before I was ready to write a review for this show.

Spectacular. I was a big fan of the Anne of Green Gables books as a kid, and while I never did get in on the VHS 80s adaptation, that’s not to say I didn’t revel between the pages and I still have some of the books today. Keep in mind, the show is a lot darker than one might expect of the series, thanks in part to Moira Walley-Beckett, best known for her work on Breaking Bad. This has apparently upset some viewers or fans. I am thrilled by this. Quite honestly it’s refreshing to see what life might have truly been like during the time period. How Anne, a discarded and imaginative orphan was pushed around, how she became Anne. It has its happy moments, its warm and butterfly inducing moments as well, it’s a story about this little girls life and it’s not always pushing up daises but she turns everything into flowers in the end. That’s Anne’s magic, her stories, her twist.

Give the show a chance, before you know it you’ll be hooked. After the first few episodes I kept thinking “it’s okay, one more to see”. Then BAM! I needed more after the cliff hanger is amazingness that I am awaiting the next season eagerly, desperately.

I find Gilbert and Jerry so freaking cute I can’t stand it. It’s bizarre to think of how adorable Lucas Jade Zumann is going to grow to become, he’s the same age as my little sister!!!

Leave a Reply

